Starting the nursery….

So at 35 weeks, I am getting a very late start on setting up the nursery! :-O Of course, I am blaming this on the move 😉

But actually I am struggling because I have seen so many amazing and inspiring nurseries featured all over the web! One of my favorite resources is Apartment Therapy. I could stare at their website for hours on end. Etsy, because Etsy is just cool, and has too many vintage items that I want, and lastly everything under Ashley Ann’s website, Under the Sycamore.

http://ashleyannphotography.com/blog/2009/06/30/entering-the-girl-world-the-nursery/

So I decided to make a list of what was most important to me and then go from there:

  1. Whimsical and vintage
  2. Boyish (but not over the top)
  3. Practical in sense of storage, changing, etc.
  4. Colorful but not matchy matchy

Besides those things on the list I am just taking it as it comes! Here is some preview photos of what I have started with.

DIY Projects haves started... sneak preview of Nursery
DIY Projects haves started… sneak preview of Nursery

The white Vitrine is an IKEA hand-me-down that I am hacking to turn into a baby closet. I sanded down the shelves, changed the knobs, and removed the first shelf to place a clothing rod on the top to hang a few items. The blue chest is also a hand-me-down from my in-laws, it was a handmade gift from their landlord! I love refurbishing items.

I will post more about the nursery as I get closer to finishing! 🙂

One thought on “Starting the nursery….

Leave a Reply

