Super Easy Strawberry Cake

So the in-laws came up and visited for the weekend and bought over a kilo of strawberries with! I absolutely adore strawberries but can not sit and eat over a kilo of them, so I decided/wanted to make something different than I had in the past. After looking for an hour at recipes for inspiration, I decided to just make up my own. You know the old saying, ‘Baking is Chemistry while Cooking is an Art’. While obviously that came to being, because for baking you should be pretty exact and measure, and for cooking you have more room to be creative and still come up with something fabulous! Well I am terrible at Chemistry 🙂 which means if the recipe for baking looks to complicated I simply do not try it. Also, as I live abroad, measurements, flour, sugars, everything is different. So here is my super easy recipe, feel free to modify it as you like 🙂

Materials you need: one bowl, one smaller sized coffee/tea cup, one smaller spoon or teaspoon if you have it, pan (I used a 9×13 glass lasagna pan), spoon.

Ingredients:

2 of your cups of flour

1 of your cups of white sugar

2 eggs

1 of your cups of vegetable oil (I used Sunflower oil)

2-3 teaspoons of baking powder

1 teaspoon salt

3 teaspoons of vanilla extract or vanilla sugar (vanilla extract is very hard to find here)

Topping is optional, but I love streusel toppings and used this very simple recipe:

http://allrecipes.com/recipe/crumb-topping-for-pies/

Directions:

Step 1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).

Step 2. Lightly grease the cake pan you are using.

Step 3. Mix all of the ingredients, excluding the strawberries in a bowl until smooth.

Step 4. Pour the batter into your slightly greased pan.

Step 5. Cover batter with a layer of strawberries.

Step 6. Add in optional streusel topping (recommended but not required)!

Step 7. Bake for 35 minutes or until top is light brown.

Step 8. ENJOY 🙂

 

This is how I like to measure things! 🙂

 

 

One thought on “Super Easy Strawberry Cake

Leave a Reply

